Whine, Buffy, Whine

Buffy The Vampire Slayer The Rewatch: Week 5 Part 1

Wow, I mean really, wow. Watching Buffy season 4, while watching Angel season 1 is really, really hard. Do you want to know why?

Because Angel season 1 is awesome, and Buffy season 4, kind of sucks. Also, I’ve always considered myself a Buffy/Angel shipper. Always, forever. But then I watched “I will Remember You” again, after having watched some of season 4, and realized how much better they are apart.

When Buffy is by herself, sure, she’s still angst ridden and kind of whiny, but she’s much funnier about it. And when Angel is by himself, sure, he’s still dark and broody, but he’s much more focused and better at interpersonal relations.

Then there’s “I will Remember You” where Buffy comes to LA and literally the entire episode is the two of them whining at each other.

Cordelia points out their pattern to Doyle and even gets in Buffy’s face about it, because she’s the best.

The shows should be called “Cordelia Makes Fun of The Vampire Slayer” and “Cordelia”

But really, it’s hard to watch. And hard to care about Buffy when she’s being such a whiny, terrible person. And really hard to care about Angel when he’s so single focused and depressed.

Basically, yes, Joss Whedon, I support your decision to split them up. Something I never thought I would say.

Leave a Reply

