Have a Little Faith

Buffy The Vampire Slayer The Rewatch: Week 3 Part 2

I’ve been lax in my Buffy watching the week. Which is strange, because season 3 has always been my favorite. But TV season is starting, so I’ve been catching up, watching things on DVR and on demand.

But that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten, no, not at all.

So let’s talk about Faith.

Super Cool

I love Eliza Dushku, and always have. I’ve talked about my cheerleading daysBring It On was like, my guidebook to life. (In that way a teen comedy about competitive cheerleading can be to a 13 year old girl) She also puts in a sick performance as “Chrissy” in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. (When one takes part in the Askewniverse, one earns my undying affection) and of course Dollhouse.

But there’s nothing quite like Faith. Buffy’s foil, friend, compatriot, enemy,and  rival. If the first 3 seasons deal with the idea of metaphor and “high school is hell” and all of that, Faith and Buffy have the kind of contentious “frienemy” relationship that marks the high school experience of most girls. (It’s unfortunate, I’m not saying it’s a good thing, I’m just saying that it’s relate-able.)

Of course most frienemy relationships end in tears and maybe some mild boyfriend stealing, but Faith and Buffy, being slayers have to take it to the next level, since their relationship ends in literally trying to kill each other, and well…eventually body switching boyfriend stealing.

Hey, got to keep it real right? That’s what Faith would say.

Leave a Reply

